Free AI Room Design Apps: What Is Actually Free in 2026
DecorAI, Homestyler, FORMAS.AI, Planner 5D, REimagineHome, Spacely AI and Interior AI compared on real free-tier limits and watermarks.
Almost every AI room design app calls itself free. Almost none of them mean the same thing by it.
Some give you a handful of generations before asking for a card. Some give you unlimited use but slap a watermark on every image. Some only let you sign up for a "free" account and then charge you the moment you try to do anything with it.
This guide breaks down what's genuinely free versus what's a free trial in disguise, across the ai room design apps people actually search for, with the exact credit counts and limits each vendor publishes on its own site. It's written for interior design enthusiasts furnishing a first apartment as much as for anyone doing actual renovation planning on a specific space, whether that's one home interior or several.
What "free" actually means across these apps
Before you pick a free ai room design app, it helps to know which of four buckets it falls into. They are not the same thing, even though marketing pages use "free" for all of them.
No-signup free. You upload a photo and get a result without creating an account. Usually capped per day, usually watermarked.
Free-forever core plan. You do create an account, but the core tool stays free indefinitely. AI-specific features and higher resolutions get walled off.
One-time trial credits. You get a fixed batch of credits at signup, once. When they're gone, you're on a paid plan or you're done.
No free tier. The vendor doesn't publish a free option at all. You pay from the first render.
Keep that framework in mind. It matters more than the marketing copy, whether the vendor calls itself an ai interior design app, an ai home decor app, or just a free room design tool.
Free AI room design app comparison
Here's how the free tier and starting paid price compare across every app in this guide, app by app.
- FORMAS.AI, signup bonus plus monthly refresh. What's actually free: 500 credits at signup, then 50 credits a month. Watermark policy on free output: not published. Paid plans start at $19/month (Student plan $19.90/month).
- DecorAI, no-signup daily free. What's actually free: 3 free designs a day, resets daily, no account needed. Free output carries a watermark, plus ads. Paid plan price: not published.
- Homestyler, free-forever core plan. What's actually free: unlimited 1K renders, 100,000+ models and materials. Free output carries a watermark. Paid plans start at $4.90/month (Pro, 100 AI credits/month); Master runs $9.90/month with 300 AI credits/month, and Team runs $19.60 per seat a month.
- Planner 5D, free-forever core plan. What's actually free: unlimited projects, 50% of the furniture catalog, no AI Studio credits. Exports are watermarked. Premium starts at $19.99/month or $59.99/year.
- REimagineHome, one-time trial credits. What's actually free: 5 free designs, no card required. Watermark policy: not published. Paid plans run $14 to $99/month depending on credit tier.
- Spacely AI, one-time trial credits. What's actually free: 40 trial credits, one-time, no refill. No watermark. Personal plan runs $25/month (500 credits/month).
- Interior AI, no free tier published. Uploads may render temporarily before you're asked to subscribe. Watermark policy: not published. Pro starts at $49/month, or $29/month billed yearly.
- RoomGPT, no free tier published. Pay-per-credit only, no subscription, per its own fulfillment policy. Watermark policy: not published. Credit pack pricing isn't published on its public pages.
A few of these entries say "not published." That's not an oversight. It means the vendor's own pricing or fulfillment pages don't state it, and this guide isn't going to guess a number for you.
Apps with a genuinely free tier (no card required)
These are the apps where you can get a usable result without paying, starting today, without handing over a credit card.
DecorAI: three free designs a day, no account
DecorAI's own site states you get three free AI designs every day, and the allowance resets daily. No account creation or payment information is required, though you do watch a short video ad to get each free design.
The free output carries a watermark. Upgrading to Pro removes the watermark and the ads and speeds up generation, though DecorAI doesn't publish the Pro price on its landing page.
DecorAI's own site also lists more than 60 design styles, from Scandinavian to Japandi to Boho, and states results appear in under 10 seconds. That's a real number, not a marketing rounding, and it's one of the larger style libraries this guide found stated on a vendor's own page.
This is about as close to "actually free" as this category gets. The trade-off is the daily cap and the ads.
Homestyler: unlimited renders, locked at 1K and watermarked
Homestyler's Basic plan includes unlimited 1K rendering and access to more than 100,000 free 3D models and materials, according to its own pricing page. That's a genuinely free-forever core plan, not a trial.
The catch: free renders carry a Homestyler watermark, and anything above 1K resolution needs a paid plan. Pro starts at $4.90 a month and adds 2K and 4K rendering, watermark removal, and 100 AI credits a month. Master, at $9.90 a month, raises that to 300 AI credits a month, and Team runs $19.60 per seat a month.
Homestyler's own site also markets more than 500 design templates for fast starts, on top of that 100,000+ model library, so the free tier isn't short on starting points even if the output resolution is capped.
The free tier works well for planning, a floor plan and a decent-resolution mood image with a large furniture catalog, though the output resolution is capped.
FORMAS.AI: 500 credits at signup, then 50 a month
FORMAS.AI is a design platform that turns a floor plan, photo, sketch, or 3D file into renders and design concepts, using more than 50 specialist AI models it orchestrates rather than a single foundation model it built itself.
New accounts get 500 credits at signup, then 50 credits every month after that. That's stated exactly because it's the kind of number vendors round up in marketing copy, and this one shouldn't be.
FORMAS.AI didn't train its own foundation model. The one part it built in-house is Freeform Studio; everything else runs on the specialist models it coordinates.
Paid plans start at $19 a month, with a Student plan at $19.90 a month, Pro at $69, and Pro Plus at $129. Each plan also caps how many 3D models you can save: 3 on Starter, 5 on Go, 8 on Pro, and 20 on Pro Plus.
On free tier size, FORMAS.AI's 500-credit signup bonus is larger than any one-time trial in this list, including Spacely AI's 40 credits and REimagineHome's 5 designs.
On access, FORMAS.AI differs from Homestyler and DecorAI in one respect: you sign up before you get anything, and the free allotment settles at 50 credits a month after the first one. DecorAI is the only app in this list that lets you generate without creating an account at all.
FORMAS.AI also imports GLB, GLTF, OBJ, FBX, STL, Rhino 3DM, and PDF files, which none of the photo-upload apps in this list (DecorAI, RoomGPT, Interior AI) support at all, since they only take a room photo as input. If your workflow starts from an existing 3D model or a PDF floor plan rather than a phone photo, that's a real difference, not a marketing one.
Freemium ai interior design tools: enough to test, not enough to finish
These apps let you try the tool for free, but the free tier isn't built to carry a full project. You'll hit a wall on catalog access, resolution, or credits before you're done.
Planner 5D: a real floor planner with a locked catalog
Planner 5D's free plan, per its own pricing page, covers unlimited projects, 2D and 3D design across web and mobile, and project sharing, with no time limit. It's a legitimate free floor planner, not a teaser. Planner 5D's own homepage also states you can go from a drawn floor plan to a full 3D home design in 10 minutes using its AI-powered software, a speed claim it doesn't restrict to paid tiers.
What it doesn't include: the AI Design Generator, AI floor plan recognition, premium renders, and half the furniture catalog. Free plan users see roughly 50% of the available catalog and get watermarked exports.
Premium adds the full 10,000+ item catalog and the AI features for $19.99 a month or $59.99 a year. Professional, at $49.99 a month, adds unlimited 4K renders and custom 3D model uploads.
Planner 5D's free plan works as a floor planner without a time limit; the AI Design Generator and AI floor plan recognition require a paid tier from the start.
REimagineHome: five free designs, then a credit plan
New users get 5 free designs, described on REimagineHome's own pricing page as "same AI, same quality as paid plans," with no card required. That's a real trial, not a crippled demo tier.
After that, paid plans run from $14 to $99 a month depending on credit tier, with monthly credit allotments ranging from 30 credits on the entry plan up to 900 on the agency tier. Thinking through ideas and exploring styles doesn't cost credits; only the final render does.
Five designs is enough to see whether the tool fits your style, not enough to plan a whole room.
Spacely AI: 40 credits once, no watermark, no refill
Spacely AI's pricing page states the free plan includes 40 trial credits, described explicitly as one-time, with access to all features and no watermark on outputs. Spacely AI's own site also states renders complete in under 60 seconds, a speed claim it applies across every plan, including those free trial credits.
That no-watermark detail is notable: most free tiers in this category watermark their output, but Spacely AI's free credits don't.
Once the 40 credits are gone, the Personal plan runs $25 a month for 500 credits, based on Spacely AI's own pricing update. Most renders cost between 2 and 8 credits, so 40 credits covers somewhere between 5 and 20 renders before you're done.
Ai interior design apps with a limited or no free tier
Not every popular option here actually has a free tier its own site will confirm. Two of the most-searched names fall into that category.
Interior AI: no free plan published, straight to $49 a month
Interior AI's own site doesn't advertise a permanently free plan. The Pro plan is $49 a month, or $29 a month billed yearly, and includes 1,000 interior designs, but not watermark removal or unlimited renders, both of which are reserved for the Premium tier at $99 a month (or $49 a month billed yearly).
Some uploads and previews may render temporarily on the site before you're asked to subscribe, but Interior AI's own pages don't spell out a specific free-render allowance the way DecorAI or Spacely AI do. That makes it harder to compare Interior AI's free access against apps that publish an exact number.
Interior AI's own site does state its style count clearly: more than 55 interior design styles. That's a real number pulled from the vendor's page, not the 40-something figure that shows up in some third-party roundups. Interior AI's own site also states a single interior design renders in about 25 seconds, a generation-speed figure it publishes directly rather than leaving to guesswork.
RoomGPT: pay-per-credit, no subscription, no published free allotment
RoomGPT's own fulfillment policy states there's no subscription model. All purchases are made on a per-credit basis, and unused credits don't expire.
What RoomGPT's public pages don't state is a specific number of free credits for new signups, or exact per-pack pricing. If you've seen a number quoted elsewhere for RoomGPT's free credits, treat it with caution. It isn't something the company's own site currently confirms.
What actually eats your free credits
Across every ai interior design and ai home decor app in this list, a few patterns repeat regardless of vendor.
Refinements cost the same as the original. On REimagineHome and Spacely AI, asking for a variation or a redo of a design style spends a credit just like the first render did. Free credits disappear faster than the headline number suggests once you start iterating.
Resolution is the most common paywall. Homestyler and Planner 5D both let you generate for free, but cap you at low resolution or a watermark until you pay. The design itself is free; a usable version of it often isn't.
Catalog access is the quiet limit. Planner 5D's free plan shows you half its furniture catalog. That shapes what your ai home decor result actually looks like, not just how many times you can generate it.
"Free" ai tools for interior design rarely include commercial use. Spacely AI is the exception here, stating commercial license on renders is included on every plan, free tier included. Most competitors don't make that claim on their free tier at all, so check before you use a free render for a listing or a client.
What "no card required" actually protects you from
"No card required" isn't just a convenience claim. It's a specific protection: without a card on file, there's nothing for a vendor to auto-charge once your free allowance runs out. DecorAI states plainly that no account creation or payment information is needed to use its daily free designs. REimagineHome's own pricing page makes the same point about its 5 free designs, describing them as available with no card required. RoomGPT goes further in the other direction. Its own fulfillment policy states there's no subscription model at all, so there's no recurring charge sitting in the background to begin with, just a credit balance you top up when you choose to.
Compare that to any tool that asks for billing details before your first free render. Once a card is on file, a trial that quietly rolls into a paid plan is the real risk "free" is supposed to protect you from. If a vendor's page doesn't say whether a card is required, don't assume it isn't. Check before you enter one.
Resolution and export limits follow the same pattern
Across the vendors in this list that state their free-tier limits clearly, the free version and the paid version are usually the same underlying design, just held back by resolution or a mark on the export.
Here's the free-tier resolution or export cap for each app, and what removes it:
- Homestyler, capped at 1K resolution. Pro, at $4.90/month, removes the cap with 2K and 4K rendering.
- Planner 5D, exports watermarked; full 4K reserved for the top tier. Removed by Professional at $49.99/month.
- DecorAI, output watermarked. Removed by the Pro plan (price not published).
- Spacely AI, no watermark, even on trial credits. Not applicable; the free tier is already unmarked.
- Interior AI, watermark removal withheld from the $49/month Pro tier. Removed by Premium at $99/month, or $49/month billed yearly.
- REimagineHome, not stated on its public pages. Not published.
- RoomGPT, not stated on its public pages. Not published.
The pattern holds for four of the eight apps in this guide: the free design itself usually isn't degraded, but a watermark or a resolution ceiling stands between you and something you'd actually use outside the app. Spacely AI is the outlier, since its free credits skip the watermark entirely. FORMAS.AI doesn't publish a resolution cap or a watermark policy for its free credits; the caps it does publish apply per paid plan, in how many 3D models you're allowed to save, from 3 on Starter up to 20 on Pro Plus.
What these apps actually do with a photo of your room
Most of the apps in this list work the same way at a basic level: you upload a single photo of an actual room (a living room, a bedroom, an empty room, whatever specific space you're working on), and the AI generates a new version of it in a different design style.
Under the hood, most of these apps follow the same basic pipeline. You upload a photo, the app sends it to an image-generation model along with a text prompt describing the style you picked, and the model returns a new version of that image built from your original room. That's also why a credit typically gets spent per generation, not per project: the app is paying for a model run each time, whether that run produces your first draft or your fifth refinement of it. Most of these vendors didn't build that underlying image model themselves. FORMAS.AI is explicit about this on its own site: it orchestrates more than 50 specialist AI models rather than a single model it trained end to end, and Freeform Studio is the one piece it built in-house. That's typical for the category. It's just rarely stated as plainly as FORMAS.AI states it.
The better ones preserve the room itself. A good AI preserves your walls, windows, and floor plan while swapping out furniture, color schemes, and finishes, rather than inventing a generic space that no longer matches your real one. A weaker tool just generates a new room that happens to share a room type with yours.
Simply uploading a reference image isn't quite the whole workflow, either. Some apps let you keep your own furniture and only change what's around it; others replace everything, new furniture included, whether you asked for that or not. If keeping specific pieces matters to you, check that before you spend a credit, since changing furniture you wanted to keep isn't something you can easily undo on a one-time free tier.
Style variety differs more than people expect. DecorAI's own site lists more than 60 design styles and Interior AI's lists more than 55, both spanning options from Art Deco to minimalist, and Homestyler adds more than 500 template starting points on top of its 3D catalog. Most apps let you preview multiple styles on the same room before you commit; style transfer this fast is genuinely useful for narrowing down a design style before you buy anything, even if the final render isn't something you'd frame.
REimagineHome works differently. Its own site describes building toward whatever result you describe rather than picking from a fixed style list. DecorAI and Interior AI, by contrast, offer a curated menu of named styles to choose from directly.
Output quality also varies by app and by tier. Free-tier renders tend to look more like realistic images than true photorealistic renders, since the highest-fidelity, ai generated output is usually gated behind a premium plan. None of the free tiers here promise renovation-grade accuracy. Treat every free render as inspiration, not a construction document.
A smaller number of apps go further than a single photo. REimagineHome (sometimes written Reimagine Home) adds shopping integration, matching its output to real, purchasable furniture from retailers. Some vendors also offer virtual staging aimed at real estate listings rather than personal renovation, which is a different use case worth knowing about before you pick a tool based on price alone.
A few smaller details are easy to miss when you're comparing an inspiration image against your own photo. Good tools respect real room proportions and won't warp a specific space just to fit a style. Weaker ai software flattens different styles into something generic, or offers ai suggestions for furniture placement that ignore your actual layout. None of the free tiers here is the only tool worth trying. Running one photo through two or three of them, not just one, is the fastest way to see which app respects your real space and which one just skins a stock photo.
How to pick a free ai room design app for what you actually need
DecorAI and Homestyler both skip the friction of a paid tier and a card requirement, at the cost of a watermark. Homestyler's free catalog is large enough to plan a room, not just preview a style.
If you're starting from a floor plan, a PDF, or an existing 3D model rather than a phone photo, most of the photo-restyle apps in this list won't even accept your input. FORMAS.AI's 500-credit signup bonus and file-format support (GLB, GLTF, OBJ, FBX, STL, Rhino 3DM, PDF) cover that case; none of the other free tiers here do.
Spacely AI is the only free tier in this guide without a watermark, though its 40 credits are one-time and don't refill.
If you're comparing multiple interior design tools before committing to one, run the same room through two or three of the genuinely free options first (DecorAI, Homestyler, FORMAS.AI's signup credits) before paying for any of them. The free tiers differ enough in output and limits that a side-by-side is worth the ten minutes it takes.
None of this replaces an actual interior designer for a full renovation, and none of these vendors claim it does. What a free tier buys you is new ideas and a rough sense of direction before you spend real money, whether that's on a premium plan, a room planner subscription, or a professional.
A few practical things to check before you settle on one, beyond the headline free number: whether it's a true web app you can use from any device or something tied to a single platform, whether the credit system charges you again for small edits, and whether it advertises unlimited designs rather than a fixed credit count, which matters if you're testing several space types in one project. An intuitive interface saves you more free credits than any single feature on a comparison list, since confusing controls waste generations redoing the same room. Browsing a vendor's interior images gallery before you sign up is a faster gut check than reading a features list. Those key features matter more day to day than which app has the biggest free-tier number on its landing page.
Frequently asked questions
Is RoomGPT free to use?
RoomGPT runs on prepaid credits, not a subscription, according to its own fulfillment policy. It doesn't publish a free credit allotment for new signups on its public pages, so treat any specific free-credit number you see elsewhere as unconfirmed.
Is there a completely free interior design app?
DecorAI and Homestyler come closest. DecorAI gives 3 free designs a day with no account, and Homestyler's core plan includes unlimited 1K renders permanently. Both watermark free output.
Can I use ChatGPT for interior design?
ChatGPT can describe styles, suggest layouts, and generate text-based design plans, but it isn't built to take a photo of your actual room and generate a photorealistic redesign of it the way a dedicated ai room design app can.
Can I take a picture of my room and have AI design it?
Yes. DecorAI, RoomGPT, Interior AI, Spacely AI, and REimagineHome are all built around uploading a room photo and generating a restyled version of that same space.
What is the best free AI app to design a room?
There's no single best app; it depends on what "free" needs to include. DecorAI requires no signup at all. Homestyler's free tier includes the largest model catalog in this guide. FORMAS.AI's signup bonus (500 credits) is the largest one-time free allotment here, and it's the only option that accepts floor-plan or 3D-file input.
What is the most popular AI interior design app?
Popularity varies by source and isn't something any vendor publishes verified numbers on. This guide focuses on what each app's free tier actually includes rather than ranking overall popularity.